Roger Federer is looking forward to the Olympic Games

July 22, 2012

ATP Tennis News

By Lisa-Marie Burrows

In an interview with Credit Suisse, the Swiss returns to speak of Wimbledon, Djokovic and Murray.

Interviewed by the sponsor Credit Suisse during his vacation, a relaxed Roger Federer spoke about his expectations for the London Olympics, the Wimbledon win and his record.

With regard to the latter and his new record, the world No.1 wanted to remember how special it was to have achieved the result:

“The fact that I lost the No.1 ranking two years ago, one week away from the record of Pete Sampras, it has created a special situation, especially in the media. All they have asked is ‘will you ever make it?’ I have always had the motivation to do anything to get back up. It has ultimately made it much more special now that it was two years ago. “

Federer discussed whether his week off is sufficient for his participation in the Olympics physically and mentally, he said:

“A week is enough to make you recover. Of course, six weeks would be better, but if we stop too long then we might begin to be nervous. This week I managed to leave behind the excitement of Wimbledon and now I can start to train to be able to give everything and be able to win an Olympic medal for Switzerland. “

But Federer still admitted how he is still enjoying his Wimbledon victory:

“I’m still on cloud nine. Reaching number one was a goal was that I worked hard for, for a whole year, but to get it already at Wimbledon is something that I never would have imagined.”

Federer also discussed the problems he had with his back at Wimbledon:

 “After the pain I had against Benneteau, I did not know what to expect from the match against Malisse. But I was afraid, because in the first set I felt pain and I said to myself that even if I win, then I knew I had three more matches to play. I was really scared. Then I saw that I was improving during the encounters and when I realized it was just muscle pain, also due to the cold wind, I realized it was not so bad. “

Federer has demonstrated his best tennis against Djokovic and Murray, although he admits that, on match point against the Serbian the ghosts of the U.S. Open semi-final, where Djokovic won frightened him:

“When I served for the match, I kept telling myself  ‘it is impossible to do again what he did that time.’ That match had a lot of influence on me. I heard people say he cannot win a slam, he cannot play 5 sets, he is not as strong as he used to be, and he should retire. That time was hard, but it’s part of sport, it is part of life. What is important is not what happens to you, but the reaction you have afterwards.”

Federer shared his thoughts about the final against Murray:

“That match was really important for us both. In each set, we both had opportunities. At the end I was perhaps a little more aggressive than he was and I had the courage to take more risks. I knew I had to attack more on his second serve, to be closer to the net. That’s what happened in the end. “

Federer also addressed his participation in London 2012 in the doubles and whether he was frightened of running out of energy:

“In doubles we’ve won the gold in Beijing. I believe that I will be competitive in both disciplines, especially with someone like Stan (Wawrinka).”

When questioned if he was likely to lose any motivation to play if he was victorious at the Olympics he said:

“No, after we have the U.S. Open.”

, , , , , ,

About Lisa-Marie Burrows

Lisa-Marie Burrows has a MA in Sports Broadcast Journalism and is a freelance sports journalist. She has covered many national and international tennis tournaments and has worked in Paris for Eurosport News channel. She is a member of the International Press Association and a journalist for its online magazine, IMPress. She has contributed articles for various leading websites including www.tennisgrandstand.com, www.worldtennismagazine.com, www.tennisbloggers.com, www.tennisscoop.co.uk and www.olympictennis.net. Lisa-Marie operates her tennis website www.tennisnewsviews.com where you can read her reports. She can be reached at lburrows@internationalpress.com or on Twitter @TennisNewsViews.

View all posts by Lisa-Marie Burrows

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

