Serena Williams already thinking about Rio 2016

August 7, 2012

WTA Tennis News

By Lisa-Marie Burrows

Why would Serena stop when she has it all to play for? (Photo credit: Getty Images)

Serena Williams is like a machine and she does not want to stop! Why would she?  Her comeback is in full swing and she is returning to her peak performance.  She does not want to stop and is not thinking about stopping either.  Not long after her victory at the Olympic Games at SW19, Serena Williams was already thinking about the defense of her medal.

Immediately after winning the gold medal in singles and the doubles with sister Venus, Serena was already discussing her possibility of entering the Olympic Games at the 2016 Olympics to be held in Rio de Janeiro.

“I plan on going to Rio, unless God himself does prevent me. When I feel that I am not strong enough then I’ll stop. But now I’m not tired and I enjoy it.’

Serena added:

“I am so happy to win. I was really in trouble this year and came back to win after what I went through is incredible. I’m happy when I start dancing. “

Now that the rush is over, Serena expects to enjoy the Olympic atmosphere as she could not enjoy much while she was committed to the tournament, before heading to Cincinnati to play her last Masters before the U.S. Open after withdrawing from the Masters event in Montreal, Canada.

“I didn’t go out during the tournament. I never ventured too. I could not do anything crazy but now that I finished I have time to relax and get out a bit.”

After all of her hard work, who can blame her! Time for Serena to celebrate her many successes of 2012!

, , , , , , , ,

About Lisa-Marie Burrows

Lisa-Marie Burrows has a MA in Sports Broadcast Journalism and is a freelance sports journalist. She has covered many national and international tennis tournaments and has worked in Paris for Eurosport News channel. She is a member of the International Press Association and a journalist for its online magazine, IMPress. She has contributed articles for various leading websites including www.tennisgrandstand.com, www.worldtennismagazine.com, www.tennisbloggers.com, www.tennisscoop.co.uk and www.olympictennis.net. Lisa-Marie operates her tennis website www.tennisnewsviews.com where you can read her reports. She can be reached at lburrows@internationalpress.com or on Twitter @TennisNewsViews.

View all posts by Lisa-Marie Burrows

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

