Andy Murray: ‘From the defeats in Grand Slam finals I have learned a lot’

September 6, 2012

ATP Tennis News, Interviews

By Lisa-Marie Burrows

Andy Murray is feeling confident in his performances at the Slams. (Photo credit: Getty Images)

Andy Murray talked about his performance so far at the U.S. Open in “The INFOSPORT.”

“In Slams I have played well in the last few years of my career. I know that I will be judged for my performance in the Majors, in Masters 1000s no matter how many I have won. Federer is playing for the 34th quarter-final in a row in a Slam and it is an incredible record and difficult, it is nice to have such a continuity. With Lendl we talked a lot about my losses in the finals of the Slam but this year, in Australia and Wimbledon, I really learned a lot. Victory at the Olympics has confirmed that there I played against the best and then it comes to making the right choices for my physical and mental health: for example, I was wrong to go to Toronto, I should have prepared better for Cincinnati. There are many events during the closing season and it is difficult to maintain physical and mental freshness.”

“With Raonic I played my best game in this tournament, I had to be very solid. Milos will continue to grow and the next time he will be even more difficult to beat. However, I am satisfied of my improvements to the serve, from this point of view, the U.S. Open has not started very well, but I have a lot of confidence and now it is important to stay focused.”

 

 

, , , ,

About Lisa-Marie Burrows

Lisa-Marie Burrows has a MA in Sports Broadcast Journalism and is a freelance sports journalist. She has covered many national and international tennis tournaments and has worked in Paris for Eurosport News channel. She is a member of the International Press Association and a journalist for its online magazine, IMPress. She has contributed articles for various leading websites including www.tennisgrandstand.com, www.worldtennismagazine.com, www.tennisbloggers.com, www.tennisscoop.co.uk and www.olympictennis.net. Lisa-Marie operates her tennis website www.tennisnewsviews.com where you can read her reports. She can be reached at lburrows@internationalpress.com or on Twitter @TennisNewsViews.

View all posts by Lisa-Marie Burrows

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

