Andy Roddick: ‘I deserve one, maybe ten beers’

September 6, 2012

ATP Tennis News

By Lisa-Marie Burrows

Andy Roddick has finally put down his racquet and is looking forward to retirement. (Photo credit: AP)

On Wednesday evening, there was a sea of sad, sullen faces around Arthur Ashe stadium as home crowd favourite, Andy Roddick, finally struck his last ball during his professional tennis career at the hands of Argentine Juan Martin Del Potro.

“Playing the last five games has been really hard, with my family in the box visibly affected by emotions. The last game began like any other, then I started to think about what was going to happen. My mind went back to the games that I played when I was 12 years old; my mother took me everywhere, a million things. I have stayed a long time, I thought I had tried everything that you can try in tennis, but it was not the same thing. In retirement however, it was a decision taken with great serenity and I am glad we did. Having spent my career in tennis, it has been a great success, at this time I think I deserve a beer, maybe even ten. It’s not for me to judge as it was my career, it is hard to be objective especially in a time like this.”

Without a doubt, the popular American will be sorely missed on and off the tennis courts, by his fans and also by his colleagues who took to Twitter to make their dedications and share moments of happy memories with the tennis star.

Good luck to Andy Roddick and congratulations on a great career. 

, , , ,

About Lisa-Marie Burrows

Lisa-Marie Burrows has a MA in Sports Broadcast Journalism and is a freelance sports journalist. She has covered many national and international tennis tournaments and has worked in Paris for Eurosport News channel. She is a member of the International Press Association and a journalist for its online magazine, IMPress. She has contributed articles for various leading websites including www.tennisgrandstand.com, www.worldtennismagazine.com, www.tennisbloggers.com, www.tennisscoop.co.uk and www.olympictennis.net. Lisa-Marie operates her tennis website www.tennisnewsviews.com where you can read her reports. She can be reached at lburrows@internationalpress.com or on Twitter @TennisNewsViews.

View all posts by Lisa-Marie Burrows

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

