Djokovic: “One of my goals is to go number 1 by the end of year”

September 13, 2012

ATP Tennis News, Interviews

By Lisa-Marie Burrows

As Murray feels liberated by his Grand Slam victory, Djokovic wants his No.1 ranking back again. (Photo credit: Ray Stubblebine / Reuters)

After his first victory in the Grand Slam final of the US Open, Andy Murray and Novak Djokovic were both weary players that shared their thoughts during the aftermath after their battle that lasted nearly 5 hours.

Andy Murray:

“He ‘s been playing fantastic, incredibly difficult. Liberation is perhaps the best word to describe this moment. I am very happy to win, to lose again today after being up 2 sets to love would have been tough. It was difficult even to believe, I have lost many finals and was starting to wonder if I could ever win. When it finally happened I felt very excited. Mentally these days have been very difficult, these playing conditions make you concentrate in a particular way. I had many questions before I took to the court today because the games against Djokovic often end badly. When I served at 5-2 I realized how important it was that moment for British tennis, many times I was asked “will you ever win a Grand Slam?”, Well, I am very glad I finally did it. Before the start of the fifth set, I told myself that all I was missing was a set, to give it everything and you do not want any kind of regret, to fight. This success is not like the Olympic title. It’s something that I have been able to get before, to which I was close but never succeeded. I have so many things on my mind. I’m happy for me but also for my team.”

Novak Djokovic:

“Every defeat is a bad defeat, no doubt. In the end, however, I have given it my all trying to overthrow this game. I faced a great opponent today who deserved to win this title more than any other, I’m sure. It’s time for me to congratulate him and I’m happy for him. He has proven himself to be a champion today. Under these conditions it was a battle for both of us, there was great frustration. The game changed depending on the side where it was played. Even under two sets I always believed in myself. I played well in the next two sets but I lost serve at the beginning of the fifth. I am also proud of what I’ve done in these five hours because I gave it my all. Mentally and physically I tried to push myself to the limit. It simply did not go in my favor, “ifs” they are useless. One of my goals is to go number 1 by the end of year.”

 

, , , , , ,

About Lisa-Marie Burrows

Lisa-Marie Burrows has a MA in Sports Broadcast Journalism and is a freelance sports journalist. She has covered many national and international tennis tournaments and has worked in Paris for Eurosport News channel. She is a member of the International Press Association and a journalist for its online magazine, IMPress. She has contributed articles for various leading websites including www.tennisgrandstand.com, www.worldtennismagazine.com, www.tennisbloggers.com, www.tennisscoop.co.uk and www.olympictennis.net. Lisa-Marie operates her tennis website www.tennisnewsviews.com where you can read her reports. She can be reached at lburrows@internationalpress.com or on Twitter @TennisNewsViews.

View all posts by Lisa-Marie Burrows

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

